Skip to product information
1 of 1

Fragonard's Progress of Love

Fragonard's Progress of Love

Regular price $29.95
Regular price Sale price $29.95
Sale Sold out
Fragonard's Progress of Love

W038343 | $29.95 / 10% library disc.
Exhibition Catalog

Frick Collection, New York, 2022. Published in association with D. Giles Limited, London. Frick Diptych, 7.

112 pp. 55 col.ills. 24 x 20 cm. In English. Hardcover.

ISBN 9781911282983

Fragonard's Progress of Love, a series of 14 paintings, is considered by many to be the artist's masterpiece. Jean- Honore Fragonard (1732-1806) was commissioned in 1771 to complete four large canvases for the comtesse du Barry, for the pavilion at the Chateau de in Louveciennes outside Paris, built for her by her lover, Louis XV. By 1773 the canvases, The Pursuit, The Meeting, The Lover Crowned, and Love Letters, had been rejected by Du Barry and returned to the artist. In 1790 Fragonard moved the canvases to his cousin's house, the Villa Maubert, in Grasse, and over the course of the year painted ten additional panels. Sold by the Maubert estate to the dealer Agnew's in 1898, the works were finally purchased in 1915 by industrialist Henry Clay Frick. By May 1916 the panels were installed at Frick's new mansion in New York in the present-day Fragonard Room. In The Garden and the Forest author Alan Hollinghurst writes an immersive piece inspired by the dreamlike romantic story told in the panels. In Fragonard's Progress of Love Xavier F. Salomon explores the fascinating and complex story behind their creation.

Subject Headings: Eastern and Western European Art ; Western Art -- France -- 1600-1800 -- Painting --

View full details